Germany confirms third case of Omicron variant

Vacationers queue at a check-in counter at OR Tambo Worldwide Airport in Johannesburg on November 27. (Phill Magakoe/AFP/Getty Photos)

President Joe Biden introduced Friday the US will limit journey from South Africa and 7 different nations beginning Monday as a new coronavirus variant has emerged.

Appearing on recommendation from the nation’s high infectious illnesses knowledgeable, Dr. Anthony Fauci, and the US Facilities for Illness Management and Prevention, the Biden administration will limit journey from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi.

Biden on Friday evening signed the official proclamation limiting the journey of these “bodily current” within the nations through the “14-day interval previous their entry, or tried entry into the US.”

The proclamation features a checklist of these exempted from the brand new restrictions, together with US residents, lawful everlasting residents and noncitizens who’re the spouses of residents or everlasting residents.

It says it is going to stay in impact till terminated by the President and won’t apply to any flights scheduled to reach within the US that depart previous to 12:01 a.m. EST on Monday.

The choice to limit journey comes because the federal authorities remains to be trying to study extra in regards to the new variant, named Omicron. They should see extra sequencing, however after discussing what they’ve seen thus far, officers determined to halt journey from these different nations out of concern about what they do not but know.

Biden was briefed Friday on the brand new coronavirus variant circulating in southern Africa, he mentioned within the announcement.

Learn extra here.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro
Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.