Conservatives end boycott of Parliament’s national security committee


The federal Conservatives are ending their boycott of a particular nationwide safety and intelligence committee made up of MPs and senators.

Interim Conservative chief Candice Bergen introduced the reversal this afternoon, saying Tory MPs Michelle Rempel Garner and Rob Morrison will characterize the celebration on the committee.

The transfer got here two months after then-Conservative chief Erin O’Toole mentioned the official Opposition was boycotting the all-party committee, which was created in 2017 to evaluate delicate issues.

O’Toole mentioned the boycott was to protest the Liberal authorities’s refusal at hand over unredacted paperwork associated to the firing of two scientists from Canada’s highest safety laboratory in Winnipeg.

Bergen in the present day promised the Tories would proceed to press for these paperwork, however mentioned it was vital for Conservatives to have a voice and presence on the committee throughout what she described as these “historic instances.”

Bergen additionally introduced she was shaking up her celebration’s critic portfolios, with former cupboard minister Ed Quick taking on because the Conservatives’ level particular person on finance after Pierre Poilievre stepped all the way down to run for the celebration management.

This report by The Canadian Press was first printed Feb. 22, 2022.


Source link

Leave a Comment